What you need to know about voting in the Anne Arundel County primary election

Anne Arundel County voters head to the polls on Tuesday to cast their ballots in the 2024 primary election. Here’s what you need to know.

Votes will be cast statewide for presidential and U.S. Senate races. In Anne Arundel County, residents will also vote for congressional representatives, Board of Education members, circuit court judges and delegates to the Democratic and Republican national conventions.

Much of northern Anne Arundel and Annapolis will cast ballots for candidates vying for Rep.’s seat. John Sarbanes in the crowded 3rd Congressional District race. The district includes all of Howard County and parts of Anne Arundel and Carroll counties.

Nearly two dozen candidates have filed to run on the Democratic ticket, including Harry Dunn, a former U.S. Capitol Police officer who has made big strides in fundraising, Secretaries of State Sarah Elfreth and Clarence Lam, and state Reps. Mark Chang, Terri Hill and Mike Rogers, among others. Nine Republicans are also running.

Voter guide 2024

Southern Anne Arundel County residents will vote in Maryland’s 5th Congressional District, which includes all of Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s counties, as well as parts of Anne Arundel and Prince George’s counties. Incumbent Rep. Steny Hoyer is running against three Democratic challengers. Michelle Talkington, a Republican, is unopposed.

All seven seats on the county school board are also up for election, although only candidates from Districts 1, 3, 4 and 5 will appear on the primary ballot. The top two votes will advance to the general election on November 5. Other districts have fewer than three candidates running, meaning they automatically advance to the general election.

Polls will be open for in-person voting on Tuesday from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. There are 163 polling places in Anne Arundel County. You can find your polling place for the primary election using the Maryland voter lookup tool at voterservices.elections.maryland.gov.

If you have not yet registered to vote, you can do so in person on Tuesday at your assigned polling place.

Although the deadline to request a mail-in ballot online has passed, residents can still pick up a mail-in ballot by visiting their board of elections. Mail-in ballots must be postmarked by Tuesday. They can also be submitted at a ballot box, polling station or at the election board before 8 p.m. on election day.

Anne Arundel County mailed out 62,729 ballots this year, according to state election board data. As of May 12, three days after early voting was completed, 32,151 were returned. Of these, 22,908 ballots have been counted.

The State Board of Elections had received more than 275,000 mail-in ballots from voters in Maryland as of Thursday.