Key candidates, past results and schedule

Uluberia: Of the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal, Uluberia is an important general constituency that will witness elections on May 20 during the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, which began on April 19. This constituency has a literacy rate of 74.33 percent and has seven assembly segments (Uluberia Purba, Uluberia Uttar, Uluberia Dakshin, Shyampur, Bagnan, Amta and Udaynarayanpur) falling under Hooghly district. As per the 2021 Assembly elections, the Trinamool Congress has seven MLAs from this constituency. The CPI(M) has dominated this constituency since 1971 until 2009, when the Trinamool Congress took control of the seat.

Main contenders

Among the long list of contenders racing for this embattled seat, AITMC-led West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee has fielded Sajda Ahmed to contest against the BJP’s Arunday Paulchowdhury in this election. The BJP is looking forward to toppling AITMC’s stronghold in the seat, while AITMC is aiming to win in this seat for the third consecutive year.

What happened in the previous polls?

In the 2019 general elections, AITMC’s Sajda Ahmed defeated BJP’s Joy Banerjee by 2,15,359 marginal votes, securing 6,94,945 votes and 53 percent of the vote share.

In the 2014 elections, Sultan Ahmed of AITMC polled 5,70,785 votes and, with 48.46 percent of the vote share, defeated CPI(M)’s Sabir Uddin Molla by a margin of 2,01,222 votes.

Uluberial: Previous Lok Sabha election results

Uluberial: Past Lok Sabha Election Results | FPJ

In 2009, Sultan Ahmed polled 5,14,193 votes with 50.92 percent of the vote share, defeating CPI(M)’s Hannan Mollah with 98,396 marginal votes.

The counting of votes for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections will take place on June 4.